OuttaCtrl
When life goes a lil' bit crazy! :-)

Sing WHAT now??!?!?

A friend sent me a song he had heard recently – ‘Tonight (I’m Lovin’ You)’. After Spotify’ing it I very quickly realised that the original track is not quite as innocent as one might think. I guess I found this even more surprising given the middle-aged mum fanbase that this artist has historically attracted.

This follows a succession of similarly explicit songs that radio stations would have you believe were perfectly innocuous.  Cee Lo Green’s chart-topper ‘F*** You’ is another example of a song that was rerecorded for radio.

The first case I can remember of an explicit song title was Eamon’s ‘F*** It’ (amusingly countered shortly after by a “response” entitled ‘FURB’).  This song also won a Guiness World Record for having the most expletives for a #1 hit single.

Now all of these songs are explicitly explicit (see what I did there :cool:), but I think it would be unfair to single them out as there are far more “haram” songs that people quite happily sing along to without realising the true meaning or significance.

Here are a few songs I have often double-taked on in the past:

  1. Always on Time – Ashanti / Ja Rule

    People think this song is a sweet love song about Ashanti’s devotion to her part-time lover.  But it’s a lot darker than that – the full lyrics reveal it’s about being the mistress to a violent gangster.

    And I love to see that a** and b**bs shake
    Hold down on the bed while I’m yankin your braids
    Thug style, you never thought I’d make you smile
    While I’m smackin your a** and f***in you all wild

    😮 😮 😮

  2. All For You – Janet Jackson

    Another hit that demonstrates quite how often this happens in RnB.

    All my girls in the party – look at that body.  Shakin’ that thing like you never did see.  Got a nice package on it, ‘cause I’m gonna have to ride it tonight.

    😕 😕 😕

  3. 2 Become 1 – Spice Girls

    I was a little dumb-founded when I saw the most voted YouTube comment for this song was that the line “wanna make love to you baby” ruined it for them.  If that’s the case, I think they’re seriously missing the subject of the song. Just look at the bridges:

    Come a little bit closer baby, get it on, get it on
    ‘Cause tonight is the night when two become one

    Are you as good as I remember baby, get it on, get it on
    ‘Cause tonight is the night when two become one

    Be a little bit wiser baby, put it on, put it on
    ‘Cause tonight is the night when two become one

    😳 😳 😳

  4. Kiss (When The Sun Don’t Shine) – Vengaboys

    This song brazenly gets preteens jumping around singing about the pros of a one-night stand.

    Straight out of the blue
    You came and asked me to
    Be your date in the daytime babe
    But I am sorry, no can do

    I only kiss, kiss, kiss when the sun don’t shine
    Oh-woah, oh-woah
    You wanna kiss, kiss, kiss then tonight is fine
    Oh-woah, oh-woah

    😐 😐 😐

  5. Black or White – Michael Jackson

    And finally, this is the one that surprises me the most perhaps because of its popularity.  Still, I don’t think it’s a great idea to dish out threats even if it is in the name of racial equality…

    And I told about equality…  And it’s true you’re either wrong or you’re right…
    But if you’re thinkin’ bout my baby it don’t matter if you’re black or white.

    😯 😯 😯

Anyone know of any others? I suspect that there are a lot more than we’d originally expect.

Over and outtactrl! :mrgreen:

No Responses to “Sing WHAT now??!?!?”

Leave a Reply

