OuttaCtrl
When life goes a lil' bit crazy! :-)

Curb Your Enthusiasm (esp. in lifts)!

Over the last few weeks, I’ve started to make my way through the Curb Your Enthusiasm series. I’m not sure why, but I find them extremely addictive – I guess I love how well Larry David is able to identify situations of social awkwardness, and somehow craft several of them into episode upon episode of tear-laughingly cringeworthy moments. I think it also has the “observational-comedy” aspect to it that seems quite big at the moment, where people find everyday oddities even more comical because they know they do it themselves.

In a lot of episodes, I suspect the title is tongue-in-cheek. Larry seems to find himself in these situations as he has no enthusiasm or tolerance for any type of social annoyance. But arguably, there are a lot of times where he gets too enthusiastic about something – to the point where it comes back to bite him.

It’s the latter that I wanted to blog about today. I bet most people have had moments where they’ve got really excited about something and they’ve ended up regretting it for one reason or another. And I bet a few of them are quite comical in retrospect.

One time I remember vividly was one summer about a year or so ago. I was coming back from town in my apartment block’s lift, listening to my iPod. I rarely bump into anyone when I enter/exit the building and as I live on the top floor, I bump into even fewer people when going up. I was in a 90s reminiscent sorta-mood so my iPod was shuffling through several NOW albums I had from that era. Now the song that was playing when I entered the lift happened to be R Kelly’s “If I Could Turn Back The Hands of Time”.

A little surprised as I hadn’t heard that song in ages, I was getting quite into it. I must have been hyped up on RedBull or something as I started mouthing the lyrics quite emphatically as I’d invisage R Kelly would. Also, I don’t know why but I have this habit with that lift journey were I position myself in the optimum position to leave the lift the moment the doors open. So my face is about an inch away from the centre partition in the doors, and the lift journey and, unfortunately coincidentally, the song is coming to an end.

Now during the lift journey, I loosened up a little and decided that I knew the lyrics well enough to sing them out loud. So that’s exactly what I started to do. Meanwhile, a guy on my floor had decided to go out for something pretty urgently and was waiting for the lift on the other side of the door. Like me, he was also squared up about an inch from the central partition; ready to jump on as soon as the doors started to move. I guess you peeps can see where this is going.

Bing! The lift doors open and I’m suddenly serenading this guy with a high-pitched “Youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu…”, fist-clenched, eyes shut – the works. 😯 I open them just as I’m about to step out, and jumped about a foot when I saw this guy’s face just 2 inches from mine. 😳 His expression was priceless. I can’t remember exactly what happened next, but I have a vague recollection of an awkward smile, and then hurrying off in the space of a second. I have no idea what that guy was thinking, but I suspected the last thing he’d have expected to happen to him that afternoon was to be serenaded with R Kelly by some random stranger, as he went out to get a local paper or something.

Life’s full of little lessons. My one for that day was simple. Never mix RedBull and R Kelly. :mrgreen:

Over and outtactrl!

No Responses to “Curb Your Enthusiasm (esp. in lifts)!”

Leave a Reply

